Volunteer Lawyer of the Year


P.J. Minnillo

Congratulations to Paul J. (P.J.) Minnillo who was named 2016 Volunteer Lawyer of the Year by the Volunteer Lawyers Project (VLP)!  The award was presented at the Cincinnati Bar Association annual meeting in April, 2017.

Paul specializes in bankruptcy law, representing individuals, families and small businesses in Chapter 7, Chapter 11, and Chapter 13 matters in Ohio. He began accepting VLP cases when he joined the Ohio bar and has taken 55 cases since 1995.

One case is particularly representative of Paul’s efforts.  The client, a disabled man, was unable to work. However, he still faced an onerous debt burden from a large student loan.  He had made several unsuccessful attempts to get a waiver from the Department of Education. Through the VLP, Paul took the case.  As a result of his legal assistance, the court ruled it would be an undue hardship for the client to repay the loan and ultimately, the Department of Education released the man from his student loan debt.

Paul’s dedication to helping clients is inspiring. The VLP is pleased to name Paul J. Minnillo our 2016 Volunteer Lawyer of the Year.


2015 Nancy Brewer
2014 Montgomery, Rennie & Jonson, LPA
2013 Scott E. Knox
2012 Rich and Dee Dee Uhle
2011 James R. Barton
2010 Mardee Sherman
2009 Alan Abes on behalf of Dinsmore & Shohl
2008 Janet Pecquet
2007 John Eilers
2006 Andrew M. Kaplan
2006 James E. Michael
2005 Benjamin, Yocum & Heather
2004 Thomas L. Cuni
2004 Frost, Brown Todd – Middletown Office
2003 Eric D. Bender
2003 Harry B. Zornow
2002 Edward G. Marks
2002 Timothy Evans
2001 Randolph Freking
2001 Judge Leslie Spillane
2000 Rose Ann Fleming
2000 Bradley Carmella

1999 Michael A. Roberts (Graydon, Head & Ritchey)
1998 Steven D. Knittle
1997 Edmund J. Adams, Douglas Halpert (Frost & Jacobs)
1996 Tom Gaier
1995 Stacie Seiler, Binem Dizenhuz (Thompson, Hine & Flory)
1994 Robert Cloud, Francis McCune
1993 Steve Cohen
1992 Julia Sears
1991 Robert Owens
1990 Mike Walton
1989 Stan Hirtle
1988 Terry Weber
1987 Margaret Reis, Margaret Stigler
1986 Lewis Seiler
1985 Cathy Cook
1984 John Norwine
1983 Peter Thompson
1982 Harry Santen

Designed 2017 Volunteer Lawyers Project